Douglas County Government



About Us

Douglas County is the only comprehensive government in Douglas County, providing all services to its citizens, including fire and emergency services, libraries, jail facilities, E-911, transportation planning, roadway signalization, signage and marking, vanpool and express bus service, informative and interactive web site, a government access cable television channel, landfill and recycling programs, direct sponsorship and planning of events to bring our community together, and other traditional government services.

Located due west and 20 miles from Atlanta on Interstate 20, Douglas County is 200 square miles of gently rolling foothills of the Appalachian Piedmont bordered on the south by the Chattahoochee River, east by Cobb County, north by Paulding County, and west by Carroll County. The Dog River in the western portion of the County is the County's potable water source (managed by the Douglasville-Douglas County Water and Sewer Authority, State-chartered). Other waterways include Sweetwater Creek, Anneewakee Creek, and Gothard's Creek.

Douglas County's strategic location as the western gateway to Atlanta, and its proximity and ease of access to Atlanta's Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport, make it the enviable place to live, work and play.


  • Courthouse
  • Government
  • Judges
  • Court
  • County Planning & Zoning